RBSA - Global Biomass and Biofuel Certification

The RBSA standard RED bioenergy sustainability assurance was one of the first seven voluntary schemes to be approved by the European Commission in July 2011 under the Renewable Energy Directive (RED). The scheme was founded by Abengoa Energy.

The RBSA scheme covers from biomass cultivation to biofuel consumption in the following areas:

  • Biomass supply chain.
  • Agricultural production units (from farmers to plantations).
  • First collector suppliers (who first gather the biomass).
  • Intermediate biomass suppliers (e.g. traders).
  • Biofuel conversion unit.
  • Biofuel supply chain.

All economic operators within each area must be validated under an approved scheme prior to taking part in operations under the RBSA scheme.

The RBSA certification incorporates innovative technology for calculating greenhouse gas emissions and developing sustainability maps. Abengoa Bioenergy has developed externally verified IT systems to help economic operators in the biomass supply chain calculate greenhouse gas emissions.